Highrise Outdoors
Guide · Backyard pods

Does a backyard office pod need a foundation or an electrician?

Here is what Autonomous lists for the WorkPod: the ground it sits on, how it gets power, and how long install takes. We have not verified the MetroPod or StudioPod pages the same way, so check those before ordering.

The ground

Power

Install and delivery

Autonomous lists the install as 1 to 2 days, either DIY or with a pro installer. It does not state pro install pricing on the page we read, and shipping details beyond a free-shipping notice were not stated either. Confirm both at checkout.

Permits

Autonomous says the WorkPod is below the permit threshold in most US cities. That is a marketing statement, not a ruling on your address. Rules depend on your town and on size, height and distance from property lines. See our backyard office permit guide, and call your building department before you order.

Warranty

Autonomous lists a 1-year warranty on the pod (materials and workmanship) and on the solar system. We did not find return-policy terms on the page, so read Autonomous's terms before you buy.

What we could not confirm. Electrician requirements, pro install pricing, return terms, and the same details for the MetroPod and StudioPod. Specs listed by Autonomous on October 15, 2026, and they can change.

Compare the three pods

Still choosing? Read how to choose a backyard pod.

More guides

All guides