What does a home cold plunge need: space, power and water?
Before you order a tub and chiller, work out where it goes, how heavy it gets once filled, and what it plugs into. Here is what Canuck Cold Plunges lists for three of its bundles, and what it does not.
Size and filled weight
| Cedar tub bundle | Acrylic tub bundle (regular) | Portable tub bundle | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tub size | 32 11/16 × 32 11/16 × 37 3/8 in | 66 15/16 × 31 1/2 × 22 13/16 in | 59 1/16 × 31 1/2 × 25 9/16 in |
| Water volume | 400 L (106 gal) | about 350–400 L (92–106 gal) | 420 L (111 gal) |
| Empty tub weight | 72 kg (159 lb) | 70 kg (154 lb), with cover | 16 kg (35 lb) |
| Floor area (our arithmetic) | about 7.4 sq ft | about 14.6 sq ft | about 12.9 sq ft |
Filled weight is our arithmetic, not a Canuck figure. One litre of water weighs about one kilogram. A full 400 L cedar tub is roughly 470 kg (about 1,040 lb) before anyone gets in, and the acrylic tub is roughly 420–470 kg when full. Plan a level, solid base, and check with a contractor before putting a full tub on a deck or upper floor. The XL acrylic tub is bigger again: 185 × 83 × 68 cm, 400–495 L.
The chiller is separate: 21 × 16 × 22 in and 79 lb (36 kg) for the Pro, and the acrylic bundle lists chiller hoses of about 2.5 m (8 ft). Leave room for it next to the tub.
Power
- Plug: both chillers use "a standard 120 plug with Class A GFCI protection," according to Canuck.
- Not stated: the amperage the chiller draws, and the circuit it needs. The pages list 2,730 W cooling and 3,605 W heating for the Pro chiller, but do not say whether these are electrical input or heat output. Ask Canuck for the amp draw and the breaker size before you pick an outlet.
- Outdoors: the chillers are IPX4 rated, which the page describes as splash-resistant, and are listed for indoor and outdoor use. Have an electrician check any outdoor outlet.
Water: filling, draining and keeping it clean
- Connections: the tubs list two 1/2 in chiller connections and a drain outlet. The regular acrylic tub has an overflow drain; the XL does not.
- Filtration: the chillers have a built-in filter and pump and built-in ozone sanitation. Filter cartridges come with the acrylic bundle.
- Not stated: how you fill the tub, how often to change the water, and where the drain should run. Ask before you pick a spot.
- Cooling time: the portable bundle page lists the Pro chiller at 200 L in 2.7 hours or more, and 400 L in 5.8 hours or more. It does not say from what starting temperature, so treat it as a rough guide. Temperature range is 3–40°C (37–104°F).
Indoor or outdoor?
The cedar tub is listed as outdoor and indoor, and weatherproof. The acrylic tub is listed as weather-resistant, but its page says its "optimal placement is indoors." If your plunge will live outside through a Canadian or northern US winter, ask Canuck how the tub, chiller and hoses handle freezing before you buy.
Permits and rules
The chiller pages say final installation and use must comply with regional and local requirements and may require field evaluation, permit, inspection or other approval. Canuck does not say which jurisdictions this affects, so ask your local building department.
Delivery, warranty and returns
- Delivery: free to Canada and the lower 48 US states. The cedar and portable pages show both "ships in 1–4 days when in stock" and "ships in about 8 weeks." Confirm the lead time before you order.
- Warranty: 12 months from delivery or pickup, covering manufacturing defects and workmanship.
- Returns: standard orders may be returned within 30 days for a refund, subject to the return policy on Canuck's terms page. We did not read the full terms.
Health note. Cold water immersion isn't right for everyone. If you have a heart condition, high blood pressure or another health concern, talk to your doctor before you start.
Compare the tub and chiller bundles
Not sure you need a chiller? Read cold plunge with a chiller vs an ice bath.
Wondering about the power bill? See what a cold plunge chiller costs to run.